Blogger to WordPress

This is my first post in WordPress. I just moved over from Google's Blogspot. I am usually a loyal Google follower and have always believed that they come out with some of the best innovations in the industry. The reasons for moving to wordpress was multifold ;).

  1. The themes available in wordpress are way better than the ones in blogspot.
  2. Support for Tags. (Ruling reason!)
  3. Integration with services like Flickr, Delicious etc.
  4. The wordpress blog doesnt have that damn blue/silver bar on top which the blogger loads with. In wordpress that appears only when I am logged in and thats reasonable.
  5. The widgets on the sidebar are cool in wordpress (Calendar etc.)
  6. WordPress allows you to add more pages to the blog other than your blog posts.
  7. And of course wordpress supports smilies (I consider this very important.)
  8. The post password protection feature.
  9. And…. I dont have to republish everytime I post something or edit something.

Things that I didnt like about in wordpress but hope would get better over time –

  1. The post screen has a lot of handicaps (Lots means LOTS).
  2. There are a lot of reaaaallllly good addins available on the net but they cannot be installed on the one hosted by wordpress themselves.

I have imported all my Blogspot posts to wordpress and for some more time I will run both Blogspot and WordPress together and once I am sure wordpress is the best alternative I will be blogging here from here alone. 🙂

Anyway, I have only a handful of readers who visit my blog regularly and I am sure they wouldn't have a problem with this change :D.

  1. #1 by ram on June 26, 2006 - 8:13 pm

    So have you moved completed to wordpress.? G’bye to blogger?

  2. #2 by udayms on June 26, 2006 - 8:27 pm

    nope… not yet… i am retaining blogger…. but I’ll be using blogger to post videos (from youtube) and interesting images…. But, my blog entries are going to be here in wordpress only. 🙂

  3. #3 by Musica latina on October 11, 2006 - 2:27 am

    [URL]http://www.musica-latina.anticoit.org[/URL]

  4. #4 by Azzurra on November 5, 2006 - 3:54 am

    Buon luogo, congratulazioni, il mio amico!

  5. #5 by Coleman on March 30, 2007 - 8:24 pm

    This is a wonderful page for everyone! Would you please also visit my site?

  6. #6 by Allen on March 30, 2007 - 8:25 pm

    First time here on your site. I am delighted to find your wonderful website online. Please also visit my site:

  7. #7 by Stacy on March 30, 2007 - 8:25 pm

    Hmm… sweet! [*../nice_site2.txt*]

  8. #8 by Jeff on March 30, 2007 - 8:25 pm

    Hi! Your site is very nice! Please visit my site too:

  9. #9 by Shirley on June 16, 2007 - 2:25 pm

    Thanks bro! Real good work! Visit my sites, please:

  1. Why wordpress « India Rising

Leave a Reply

