Calcutta in 1947

Yesterday, a friend of mine sent me a link. A link to some archive photographs dated 1947. Photographs taken by a US military photographer while he was stationed in Calcutta in 1947. As I went through the vintage photos, I found myself taken back in time thinking about the life in India during those times.

Howrah Bridge

I have spent sometime in Calcutta(now called Kolkata) in recent years. Kolkata is one of the most interesting places in India. I really enjoyed my days in Kolkata. Now, looking through these vintage photos, I could relate to many places in them. One of Kolkata's unique features was how the past is still alive in every strand of modernity the Bengalis have adapted.

I spent almost an hour to download all the images, add captions/descriptions and upload them into Flickr. During the excerise I asked myself "what am i doing? why am i wasting my time on these photos? is it really worth all this time and effort?". But, each time i thought about stopping the work, something deep in my mind kept pressing me to go ahead and finish the task. Well, its not about some photos taken by somebody during somtime in the 1940s. Its about India, its about my past, its about my roots, its about my home country. Its worth all the time I spend on it. I believe every Indian should spend time to glance through the history of our homeland. Atleast, we know -How better a world, we live in.

To see the Flickr photos, click here.

  1. #1 by jean on June 26, 2006 - 7:39 am

    I was wondering if a US photographer would click pics from the neolithic age, that would be swell and even more post it in photobucket and flickr
    LOL

    http://www.irin.co.uk

  2. #2 by udayms on June 26, 2006 - 7:43 am

    and…… it IS ironic that I had to learn about my own history from the archives of a solider from another country. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. #3 by jean on June 26, 2006 - 7:58 am

    udayams,
    the reason the contents are seperate is it would appear condensed, squeezed in.

    http://www.irin.co.uk

  4. #4 by Suraj on March 2, 2007 - 10:56 am

    Friend,

    Can you mail me these photos, i cant not open these in dubai.the site is blocked in dubai.

    regards,
    suraj

  5. #5 by udayms on March 2, 2007 - 11:00 am

    @Suraj,
    Sure. Just give me a couple of days, I dont have them all locally. I have them all in flickr. I need sometime to download them and mail them.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers.

  6. #6 by Saikat Mandal on September 10, 2009 - 5:56 pm

    Friend,

    Can you mail me these photos, …plzzzzzz…plzzzzzzzzzz…

Leave a Reply

