Seven year old surgeon????

WTF? I mean, this kid is truely a miracle! I found an article on Akrit with the heading – “Pass me the scalpel, mummy!”. As funny as it sounds. Its true, this guy is really into surgeries and medical research. And here I am who thinks I have accomplished something every time my code compiles! At his age, i was playing with kids in the street. I remember having a gold fish. What else? yeah. I used watch a lot of movies. And here’s this kid who is trying to find a cure for Cancer? Wow!

This astonishing film follows 12-year-old Akrit Jaswal as he researches cures for cancer in his Delhi laboratory, which was set up by his proud parents. We see him jetting to the UK to meet top British scientists, who give their verdicts on the young genius, as well as psychologists who assess the effects these achievements could be having on his childhood. Akrit comes from a small village in northern India. He is thought to have an IQ higher than Einstein; at three, he was reciting Shakespeare. At seven, dressed in surgical garb that swamped his tiny frame, the precocious youngster performed his first surgical operation, declaring, “Today, I am very much happy to have an opportunity to serve the poor community.”

Akrit – I’ve never met you. But hope to. Someday! Untill then, keep going buddy! 🙂

Note to myself: Remember to kill self 😉 .

[ Read more | Wikipedia ]

  1. #1 by Harpreet singh on February 13, 2007 - 1:17 am

    omg i cant belive akrit cam to this site omg im a big fan or did he ?

  2. #2 by kuldip on February 15, 2007 - 11:08 pm

    Hi Akrit,
    We are so proud of you. We all hope you find a cure for cancer. We are from Northern India,Punjab also. You are a great kid and hope you keep up the good work and repersent India and all the Punjabis in the world. Hope you stay in India and help all the Indians that can’t afford the medical help. You should stay in India and have all the people out of India know how smart Indians are and repersent them the best you can !

  3. #3 by udayms on February 16, 2007 - 2:40 am

    Kuldip,
    As much as I appreciate your true passion for India, I really do not agree that Akrit should stay in India. For all we know, he will be shunned out into oblivion and completely discouraged. He or for that matter anybody definitely stands a better chance of doing something for humanity if they are outside India.

    Lets face it. India is not the best place to live in. A person with talent and a genius is rarely appreciated/encouraged by the Indian government. If you really look at it, all those Indians out there who have done something (anything) great are Indians only by blood. They have all been brought up and settled outside India. For them India is nothing more than their origin. India has never contributed to the growth or success of any of these “Indians”.

    India is run by corrupt governments almost full of greedy politicians. We havent had good leader there for a long time now. For his own good, I believe Akrit should stay outside India and keep up his good work.

    Hey, Its just my thoughts! 🙂

  4. #4 by sara on March 10, 2007 - 3:21 am

    Hi Akrit,

    good job, it’s amazing….!. please beware…! do not let others steel your idea…..

    Take good care of yourself….

  5. #5 by Elise Reilly on March 13, 2007 - 4:33 pm

    Hi Akrit,

    Watched tv programme about you and was absolutely amazed by not just your intelligence and your knowledge, but your confidence and your concern for sick people. You are a special person and hope you manage to meet your goal. Enjoy your life!

  6. #6 by Ted Ukaegbu on March 14, 2007 - 2:37 pm

    Watching this boy genius, I was very perplexed at the amount of knowledge he possesses at his age. He’s obviously super intelligent and a living medical dictionary. People like him are very rare.

    I understand that coming from where (India) he may not have all the resources he needs to turned his ideas into reality. We should get a chunk of the cancer research funding available let try him. Who knows?

  7. #7 by Gill on March 17, 2007 - 12:38 pm

    I feel sad that this kid is missing out on basic childhood that everyone should have access to. I mean this kid at the age of 70 will look back n smile about a surgery that he did at 7 years of age! I mean it is an achievement and of course at age of 7 I was still making my bed wet n getting slapped by mom every morning, but now if I look back to it me n my mom laugh about it. There are just small memories that keep you going that you need to stop and wait and laugh. Wouldn’t this kid eventually get tired of being 30 years ahead than he is supposed to be?

    Great he was reciting Shakespeare at the age of 2 but this kid is missing out on basic thing in life that we all want to get back to…childhood! I miss it. And I know whoever is reading this and disagreeing with me would agree on how much they miss their childhood and would give anything to go back in time when everything was fine when biggest dilemma in life was parents not letting you go out and play with your friends.

    Cutting it down, this kid might be great but the world need not take advantage of him on expense of his childhood.

  8. #8 by Ana Sampaio on April 10, 2007 - 2:27 pm

    Hi Akrit,

    Yesterday I watched a TV program abaut you. If I can help you, let me know. I believe you, but in case you do not achieve your goals, I as soon as you want, I still believe you.

    Lots of Kisses

  9. #9 by udayms on April 10, 2007 - 2:31 pm

    I truely really hope Akrit reads these supportive comments by readers. Now, you know that you have all our prayers and support 🙂 … Do good!

  10. #10 by Torrie on April 12, 2007 - 4:21 am

    You are going to be a succsful person.Smart Smart boy

  11. #11 by Greta Stewart on April 12, 2007 - 8:12 am

    Hi Akrit,
    Congrats my little boy… you are amazing.. Praise the Lord for your talent. Keep up the good work and God will bless you abundantly.
    What God has blessed you with……..to serve others.

    May God bless you and your dear family.

  12. #12 by ALINA on May 20, 2007 - 10:16 pm

    AKRIT I AM REALLY REALLY PROUD OF U AND I AM SURE YOUR FAMILY FEELS THE SAME WAY TO HAVE A SON LIKE U, A GENIUS, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND GOD BLESS U AND YOUR FAMILY ALWAYS AND FOREVER!!!

Leave a Reply

