The Apple iPhone

So, finally all those rumours about an APPLE iPHONE is true after all? Wow! This is something! I wonder there hasnt been a HUGE hue and cry in the blogosphere on this. I mean, from the photographs I think its the best thing since sliced bread (or should I say a pager?). Look at what all you can do in the 8 GB space on the phone. And the phone is no bigger than an iPod. From the photos I think it may be slimmer than an iPod. It runs on OSX which naturally means great (simple GREAT!) graphics and like all other Apple products. This is has a fresh approach to usability. Man, wouldnt I love to work in a team like that? I guess I wont be able to afford it in India till they bring the price down to suite INR standards. But, My next phone is going to be iPhone 😎 .

Apple iPhone

Capping literally years of speculation on perhaps the most intensely followed unconfirmed product in Apple’s history — and that’s saying a lot — the iPhone has been announced today. Yeah, we said it: “iPhone,” the name the entire free world had all but unanimously christened it from the time it’d been nothing more than a twinkle in Stevie J’s eye (comments, Cisco?). Sweet, glorious specs of the 11.6 millimeter device (that’s frickin’ thin, by the way) include a 3.5-inch 480 x 320 touchscreen display with multi-touch support and a proximity sensor to turn off the sensor when it’s close to your face, 2 megapixel cam, 4GB or 8 GB of storage, Bluetooth with EDR and A2DP, WiFi that automatically engages when in range, and quadband GSM radio with EDGE. Perhaps most amazingly, though, it somehow runs OS X with support for Widgets, Google Maps, and Safari, and iTunes (of course) with CoverFlow out of the gate. A partnership with Yahoo will allow all iPhone customers to hook up with free push IMAP email. Apple quotes 5 hours of battery life for talk or video, with a full 16 hours in music mode — no word on standby time yet. In a twisted way, this is one rumor mill we’re almost sad to see grind to a halt; after all, when is the next time we’re going to have an opportunity to run this picture? The 4GB iPhone will go out the door in the US as a Cingular exclusive for $499 on a two-year contract, 8GB for $599. Ships Stateside in June, Europe in fourth quarter, Asia in 2008.

I guess its due to be launched in JUNE 2007. I wonder what other goodies are going to show up this year 🙄 .

[ More photos | News From Apple ]

  1. #1 by anand on January 9, 2007 - 8:21 pm

    It comes out here in June! too bad I got a blackberry pearl.

  2. #2 by udayms on January 10, 2007 - 4:42 am

    Me too…. I just got a moto razr. I wish I had waited for another 6 months. SIX MONTHS???? OMG! Thats too long! Somebody is sure gonna come up with a clone!

  3. #3 by Preeti on January 11, 2007 - 9:22 am

    My contract with cingular ends in 4 months ..So I will tell you all abt the iphone when i own it.What do u say uday?

  4. #4 by udayms on January 11, 2007 - 11:27 am

    Thats a nice idea! 🙂 I need some first-hand feedback abt it. Though am pretty much sure about Apple’s products. They are rarely below excellence.

  5. #5 by Sridhar on January 19, 2008 - 3:11 pm

    Phone above NOT AVAILABLE since Nov 23rd 2007 – DO NOT CALL NUMBER – HOST PLEASE REMOVE POST ASAP!!!!!!!!!

    ALL SOLD OUT CURRENT PRICES 35,000

    SRIDHAR

  6. #6 by No One on January 19, 2008 - 3:13 pm

    Phone above NOT AVAILABLE since Nov 23rd 2007 – DO NOT CALL NUMBER – HOST PLEASE REMOVE POST ASAP!!!!!!!!!

    ALL SOLD OUT CURRENT PRICES 35,000

    SRIDHAR

  7. #7 by sreenivasulu on January 23, 2008 - 12:11 pm

    Hi, I have 6 pieces of unlocked Apple i phone with me. Out of these 3 are 4 GB and 3 are 8 GB.

    Price for 4 GB is Rs 13000.

    Price for 8 GB Rs 17000

    I am here only till 30th Jan 08. You can reach me on 98404 45782.

    Thanks

    Please no negotiations in the price. I am offering the right price compared to others.

  1. New Year Resolutions « Rising Sun

Leave a Reply

