Online Identities (claimId, openId, microId etc.)

Well, I recently came across this whole thing about online identities. I guess its been active for quiet some time now. Sometimes, I really wonder what else is out there in the internet that we have not heard of but have been really the “happening things” for a long time.

Anyway, recently Christian Burns posted a comment to my new resolutions post. I visited his blog out of curiosity and saw that he had a badge on his blog which said CLAIM ID. We have seen all those digg, delicious, technocrati badges everywhere. This badge was new. So naturally I checked it out 😉 .

And thats how I stepped into this whole plethora of online ids – openId, i-name, claimId, microId, hCard etc. Just to understand the whole thing, I registered with claimId and am really beginning to like the concept.

My name is Uday M. Shankar and my friends know me as just Uday and some others know me as Uday Shankar and my online usernames usually are udayms. So, if anybody does a googles for udayms or Uday M. Shankar they are sure to get results related to me. But, if they search for Uday, the results are mostly about Uday Hussain (Son of Saddam Hussain) and if they search for Uday Shankar, the results are usually about the great dancer from India.

This is where, claimId comes into the picture. I can go around the net and find stuff related to me – My profiles in various discussion boards, communities; My posts in various blogs and tag them into my claimId page. I can also create an openId using one of the service providers (mylid, myopenid, verisign etc.) and then link it to my claimId. openId is a common id that can be used across various sites for validation. To know more about this, check out the Wikipedia descriptions.

To get an idea about how claimId works, check out my claimId home @ claimid.com/udayms and my Verisign openId @ udayms.pip.verisignlabs.com. I am still not sure how useful the openId is. But, I think the claimid is pretty useful. Now, I have all the stuff I post on the internet and all the stuff thats related to me on the internet at one spot. When claimId becomes more popular, I can ask anyone to check out my claimId home – a one-spot source for stuff about/by me.

claimId has this sepcific use-case at their site –

Imagine that you are applying for a job. You know that your prospective employer is going to search for your name online, and since you’re a rational person, that worries you. How will your employer know what online stuff is actually about you, and not about that other person who shares your name? And what if the good stuff about you online doesn’t mention your full name, or uses a name you no longer go by (such as a maiden name)? How would your prospective employer ever find it? Why do you have to lose out in the eyes of that employer? And the worst part is there’s no way for you to easily influence what search engines say about you.

Enter claimID. ClaimID is a service that lets you claim the information that is about you online. That information is then associated with your name, providing folks an easy way to see what is and isn’t about you online. In doing so, you get to influence the search engines, and provide people more relevant information when they search for you. It’s time to reclaim some power back from the search engines. ClaimID is about letting you have some say in what search engines say about you.

We believe that search engines have been having the final say about our identities for too long (have you looked yourself up in a search engine lately?). ClaimID lets you classify, annotate, prioritize and share the information that is about you, so that people who search for you are able to see the identity you want to present. It’s a really simple idea, and we’ve worked hard to build a system that is incredibly easy to use, so that just about everyone can benefit from claimID.

I think its a pretty cool concept. So, if you are reading this and you have something out there in the net to claim as yours. Register your id at claimId and start claiming! 🙂

I have still not understood much about this whole i-names thing. I understand that its  commercial and much like a domain name. I will have to pay $$$ to get my i-name. I am still unsure as to the ROI here. What will I use the i-name for? And how do I do that? Probably reading more about it will help.

  1. #1 by Courtney Benson on January 17, 2007 - 10:50 am

    Uday –

    I think you’ve come across a very useful tool and thanks for sharing!

  2. #2 by Christian Burns on January 18, 2007 - 8:35 pm

    ClaimID also gives you an OpenID. You already have one with verisign, but ClaimID provides it too. I am playing with Geni.com and am realizing that in a few years it will be more important what your online identity is vs what some government say it is. If you can point to an your identity that is verified by 25 trusted sources vs a card that could be faked.

  3. #3 by Chandraprakash Loonker on August 6, 2007 - 8:50 pm

    I think ClaimId will become a tool to build mini brands. These brands will not have top of the mind recall but people will go to the claimID site to verify a brand and trust it.

Leave a Reply

