Yahoo Mail Beta adds Instant Messaging online

Today, I logged on to my Yahoo Mail and viola! I was asked if I wanted chat with my mail! That was cool. Now, Yahoo messenger is going to work just like Google talk? Wel,, I thought so! But, dissappointed! First of all, When I clicked yes to that question, I saw a smiley added near my username with my status ‘Available’ next to it! I tried looking high and low around if I can see my contact list with little luck.

I still dont know whether they have a messenger contact list there. I kind of assumed they would. Wouldn’t you? I mean, you now have your chat messenge accessible from you mail window, so its the most natural thing to expect a list of messenger contacts available somewhere on that interface. If they do have it there, then the usability testing seems to have been skipped before the release. Cause, I have not been able to find that!

In contrast, when Google integrated chat into gmail, the contact list was available right there on my left side! Thats simplicity! How difficult is it to think simple? Anyway, I think its big step for yahoo.

Good work, Yahoo. Make it better!You are already losing customers to Google. Dont lose messenger users to google talk!

In February 2006, Google launched Gmail Chat, a simple feature that lets you send instant messages inside of your browser. In February 2007, Yahoo integrates its messenger into Yahoo Mail Beta.

Yahoo Mail opens an IM conversation in a new tab inside Yahoo Mail, unlike Gmail that shows a small box at the bottom of the window (you can maximize it). You can also start to compose a mail and then convert it to an instant message or the opposite.

Yahoo hopes to attract more people to Yahoo Messenger, that only has 73 million users, compared to more than 250 million users for Yahoo Mail. Note that the new feature is available only for the Yahoo Mail Beta and will be slowly released to everyone in the weeks to come.

If anyone asks you what’s Yahoo Mail Beta, here’s the official definition: “The Yahoo! Mail beta is a true Web 2.0 experience, including a sleek, easy-to-use interface with the speed and responsiveness of a desktop application. In addition to instant messaging, the Yahoo! Mail beta also features enhanced functionality such as drag and drop e-mail organization, message preview, an integrated calendar and an RSS reader.”

[ Read more… ]

  1. #1 by charlie on February 27, 2007 - 10:17 pm

    I assume you are using Y! Mail Beta. It’s a beta. this blog might help

    http://ymailupdates.com/blog/

  1. instant messenger

Leave a Reply

