The dots in Gmail Id are for fun???

Is this a bug or a feature????  ❓ 😕 So, basically it doesn’t reeeaaallly matter if I have dots in my userid or not??? Ok. Suppose my mail id really does contain dots, then what happens? (Stupid question???)

Gmail doesn’t recognize dots (.) as characters within a username. This way, you can add and remove dots to your username for desired address variations. messages sent to your.username@gmail.com and y.o.u.r.u.s.e.r.n.a.m.e@gmail.com are delivered to the same inbox, since the characters in the username are the same.

Keep in mind that hyphens (-) and underscores (_) can’t be used in a Gmail address. Also, usernames are case insensitive, so it doesn’t matter if you enter upper case or lower case letters.

If you created your account with a dot in your username and you wish you hadn’t, you can change your ‘Reply-to address.’ To change your reply-to address:

  1. Click ‘Settings’ at the top of any Gmail page.
  2. Enter your username@gmail.com without a dot in the ‘Reply-to address’ field.
  3. Click ‘Save Changes.’

When you log in to Gmail, you need to enter any dots that were originally defined as part of your username. Note: Google Apps for Your Domain does recognize dots. If you’d like to receive mail with a dot (.) in your username, please ask your domain administrator to add the desired username as a nickname in your user account.

[ Gmail: Help Center ]

  1. #1 by Evoreal Team on June 3, 2007 - 3:40 pm

    yahoo has dots too

  2. #2 by M Viswanathan on October 11, 2008 - 7:58 am

    It was a revelation !

    I was confused when I got an email with no dot in my email id.
    The investigation was required since the email itself was wrongly addressed to me.

    In fact, when some one was surprised that i got the email id exactly as my name (not viswanthan8890 etc.), my explanation was than I used the dot. Now I know that it is not so.

    Thanks

  3. #3 by Emily Lipsitz on April 26, 2009 - 11:39 am

    I keep listening to the news speak about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the best site to get one.:)

  4. #4 by Marlin Lachance on April 26, 2009 - 3:19 pm

    Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

  5. #5 by Blake Lamar on April 27, 2009 - 6:20 am

    Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful .. Amazing

  6. #6 by vijay kumar on March 5, 2010 - 5:30 am

    REMINDER FOR HELP

    Dear sir/madam
    I am in need.you haven,t replied pls help me,
    financially and forward this to your friend circle.

    REGARD

    name- vijay kumar
    a/c no- 629401525284
    – icici bank limited
    – nehru place branch
    – new delhi-110019 (india)

  7. #7 by Player Profiles on October 30, 2010 - 8:09 am

    Best you could change the page subject title The dots in Gmail Id are for fun??? Rising Sun to something more specific for your subject you write. I loved the blog post all the same.

  8. #8 by modifythedomesticest on December 9, 2012 - 2:40 pm

    all of these internet sites may possibly most certainly not end up being thoroughly related with the internet site on the other hand we certainly imagine anyone many ought to explore them all.

Leave a Reply

