MyPhoneExplorer – A blessing for Sony Ericsson users

I recently exchanged my Nokia 5300 for a Sony Ericsson k750i with a friend of mine. We both decided to try out each other’s phone for sometime. When I got my k750i, the first thing I did was to install the PC suite to see what all is supported in the software and I was really really disappointed. the SE PC suite turned out to be as crappy as the Nokia PC Suite or the Motorola Phone Toolkit. All these software available from the original vendors seem to be substandard and compete with each other for lower efficiency levels.

As is my habit, I started googling around for something better and I stumbled upon MyPhoneExplore. This I believe is the best thing that has happened to the mobile industry. And here’s some of the best features of MyPhoneExplorer.

  • The installation and phone detection is simpler and more effective than all the original software available.
  • It connects to my phone whenever I pug it into the USB drive. And even if I disconnect the phone from the PC when the software is running and then connect it again. It gracefully connects without asking me to detect the phone again!
  • It runs as utility on my System Tray. I can use hotkeys like ctrl+F5 to launch the “new message” window etc..
  • Messaging
    • I can type messages and click send to broadcast the message through my phone. It allows me to pick contacts from my address book and also create a favorites list of contacts.
    • Messages I send from the software are saved in the SENT messages folder and later synced on to the phone. This is something very simple but it doesn’t happen in Nokia and Motorola pc suites.
    • I can archive the messages into my local machine AND group them under different custom categories of my choice.
    • I can export the messages to multiple formats – sms, csv, xml, html etc. This doesn’t happen in Nokia pc suite.
  • Call Registry
    • I can group the calls on month
    • I can view all calls – dialled, missed, answered
  • Contacts
    • All contacts – both on SIM card and the phone memory
    • Syncs seamlessly with Outlook
  • File Manager
    • Allows me to browse the files and folders in the phone and the memory
    • I can install Java apps from this manager on to the phone (Though, I have seen that this feature is a bit buggy)
  • Others
    • Shows me pie charts of various usage attributes of the phone like memory etc.
  • Organizer
    • Now, I saved this for the last. This is probably the best feature in the application! The MyPhoneExplorer allows me to directly bi-directional sync my phone calendar with GOOGLE calendars. It allows me to sync with other mail applications like outlook also. But, Syncing with google is not even possible with outlook. So, I would say this is the best feature!
    • It allows me to sync my notes, to-do lists etc

Another very important feature is that when the phone rings or I make an outgoing call while it is connected to the PC. A dialog pops up with the incoming/outgoing call details and a textfield. And when I start conversing, I can actually jot down information in this textfield in the popup and then choose to save this as a note or task in my phone itself. I can also, dial a number directly from the PC. Isn’t that all cool?

Now, Hows that for a comprehensive feature list? And the best part of it all? MyPhoneExplorer is FREE!!!!! Go Ahead! And download it! Let me tell you something. If you have a Sony Ericsson phone and don’t use MyPhoneExplorer, then you are not using your phone to the maximum. MyPhoneExplorer works only with models of Sony Ericsson. In fact, my next phone might also be a Sony Ericsson, just because MyPhoneExplorer works only with it. I wish other original PC Suite developers understand how the quality of their software influences a customer’s purchase.

Some screenshots from the application –

 

Note: This post is not to advertise MyPhoneExplorer in any manner. I am not linked with them in any way. I wish this would serve as a checklist for Nokia and Motorola software team to get an idea of what users REALLY WANT in the software!

Note to guys from NOKIA or MOTOROLA: You folks seriously need a good User Experience person. Not just in the PC software team; Even the embedded team could do with an expert focusing on usability issues and user requirements. If any of you from Nokia or Motorola read this and are looking for such a person, you know where to leave the comment 😉 …

  1. #1 by alexx_mobil on July 16, 2007 - 6:06 pm

    Many thanks!!
    very nice topic!!!

  2. #2 by P Menezes on August 10, 2007 - 2:22 pm

    Which is better–MyPhoneExplorer or floAt’s mobile agent ? As a non-technical person its difficult to evaluate from each program’s site. Nor can I find a comparison on download.com etc. Total downloads have been approx. 1.34 mil. vs. 1.43 mil. Please help if you can.
    When traveling abroad, accessing secure sites e.g. netbanking or using a credit card online e.g. at EZjet.com is unsafe at a netcafe/ public internet access. Carrying one’s own laptop is cumbersome and a security headache. Also an internet connection for a laptop is either expensive at one’s own hotel, insecure at free wi-fi points or impossible at netcafes unless the manager is accomodating.
    U3 and other cos. provide a portable USB device with browser loaded so you can commute between office/home computers with one set of bookmarks and archived e-mail. Of course the machine has to be bootable from USB port. Do you know if such a package exists, loadable on mobile phone memory? I have a SE K750i with 1GB memory pro duo.Connection would be through USB datacable/bluetooth. I need only safe secure access to netbanking & ability to make card payments online. Ideally it should not need USB bootup recognition by the machine & should block /not permit keystroke logging or other security flaw. Thanks a lot.

  3. #3 by P Menezes on August 10, 2007 - 2:27 pm

    Which is better–MyPhoneExplorer or floAt’s mobile agent http://fma.sourceforge.net/ ? As a non-technical person its difficult to evaluate from each program’s site. Nor can I find a comparison on download.com etc. Total downloads have been approx. 1.34 mil. vs. 1.43 mil. Please help if you can.
    When traveling abroad, accessing secure sites e.g. netbanking or using a credit card online e.g. at EZjet.com is unsafe at a netcafe/ public internet access. Carrying one’s own laptop is cumbersome & a security headache. Also an internet connection for a laptop is either expensive at a hotel, insecure at free wi-fi points or impossible at netcafes unless the manager is accomodating.
    U3 and other cos. sell a USB pendrive with browser loaded so you can commute between office/home computers with one set of bookmarks and archived e-mail. Of course the machine has to be bootable from USB port. Do you know if such a package exists, loadable on mobile phone memory? I have a SE K750i with 1GB memory pro duo.Connection would be through USB datacable/bluetooth. I need only safe secure access to netbanking & ability to make card payments online. Ideally it should not need USB bootup recognition by the machine & should block /not permit keystroke logging or other security flaw. Thanks a lot.

  4. #4 by Xavier on September 14, 2007 - 5:30 am

    Gr8 Post and thanks for the Info 🙂

  5. #5 by Phil on October 15, 2007 - 9:27 am

    Great find, I was immediately looking for an alternative after I had bought my Sony Ericsson phone because of the bundled software was poorly written. I only needed 5 minutes before I uninstalled it.

    I liked the software that came with my Samsung phone 2-3 years back. But Motorla also bundles some pretty shoddy software.

    I think what’s also great about MyPhoneExplorer is because it’s lightweight and free of any needless features.

  6. #6 by Sen on November 3, 2007 - 6:18 am

    udayms said that It allows you to sync your notes. How did u do that ? I can’t sync my notes. It can only upload new notes to my phone but It can’t download notes from my phone. I’m using MyPhoneExplorer v.1.6.3. My phone is K800i

  7. #7 by xpressmusic on January 5, 2008 - 5:38 am

    Try MobiMB phone explorer. It works great for me! Just google it folks.

  8. #8 by Lotuseater on March 10, 2008 - 3:25 am

    Thanks for the info !!!

  9. #9 by USB 2k on March 16, 2008 - 2:34 pm

    Great!!! Nice explorer – works great for me! Thanks for this nice post!

  10. #10 by comet on March 21, 2008 - 8:45 am

    this link damaged.

  11. #11 by vivek atale on May 23, 2008 - 7:41 am

    Hi,
    is there any software avaible for nokia java based phone like myphone explorer

    myphoneexplorer is really a bllesing for sony ericsson users

    simple and best

  12. #12 by Krishna on June 14, 2008 - 8:20 am

    Hi..

    Yup man this software is really gr8.. i have been using this for the past 2 years.. and its an awesome software.. seriously Sony Ericsson should go thru the market and get to know wat people think about their PC Suite..

    Just as you said.. i am planning to buy a new mobile.. even i am planning to take ONLY ERICSSON because i love MyPhone Explorer. .. Just love it..

    Bye for now
    krishna K

  13. #13 by Prasit on July 1, 2008 - 6:47 am

    Excellent software

  14. #14 by Krishna on August 27, 2008 - 5:58 pm

    Myphoneexplorer is wonderful. Dont know anything about float.

    Using myphoneexplorer I was able to transer address book (contacts list) to Microsoft Word and Microsoft excel.

    Can any one tell me how to transfer the contacts list that I edited back into the myphoneexplorer contacts ?

  15. #15 by VS on November 3, 2008 - 6:04 am

    i have been buying sony ericsson phone because of the this software, if they have one for nokia, i will switch immediately!

  16. #16 by Ravi on February 21, 2009 - 6:46 pm

    I agree fully with udayms.
    I recently shifted from Sony to Nokia.
    Not happy with the PC suite that came bundled with the new Nokia phone, i googled for a MyExplore like software and stumbled up this page and I agree with every bit of it.

    I have adapted to a lot of software and consider myself a expert with computers and software. But adapting from MyPhoneExplorer to the Nokia PC suite is an arduous task.

  17. #17 by Eric on April 8, 2009 - 1:52 am

    Float actually came way before MyPhoneExplorer. Too bad it appears to be already discontinued. It still works on later Sony Ericsson phone models though.

    If you want the features described above, MyPhoneExplorer does an excellent job.

    Float however, offers a few extras like being able to remote control your PC from your phone (e.g., to control a slide show remotely or as a remote when watching movies/playing music) or your phone from your PC (e.g., take photos with the camera remotely) via Bluetooth or data cable.

  18. #18 by mange on May 5, 2009 - 8:24 pm

    my phone wont connect. i used the tips but its doesnt help.. what shall i do?

  19. #19 by Rose on May 13, 2009 - 1:13 pm

    Hi i was transfering my messages from my phone to my phone explorer and after doing this i realised that the messages did not save and i have no idea where it is. cud sum1 help me 2 get them back plz?

  20. #20 by ??? on July 10, 2009 - 7:02 am

    how to connect the phone????

  21. #21 by Zlatka on August 30, 2009 - 12:48 am

    Dear all,

    I agree that this software is great, but I couldn´t connect phone through USB and in the case of Bluetooth is the same. When I downloaded USB drivers and installed them, MyPhoneExplorer looks like is finding the phone, but after the same window with info – system find any ports (in the options I have only COM0, any other possibilities). Pls, could somebody to help me?
    Thanks in advance.
    Zlatka

  22. #22 by OlivierP on November 28, 2009 - 5:31 pm

    Great stuff!!! Love this
    THX

  23. #23 by evan on December 11, 2009 - 5:32 pm

    I have a K750 and use MyPhone Explorer, loing it! has Small footprint too at just 4MB!

    However I now have a Nokia E52.

    Is there an equivalent software for NOKIA phones, ’cause I can’t find one ,even though they are supposed to be business oriented.

  24. #24 by Ernst on December 4, 2010 - 2:36 pm

    I have used it for years. What a pleasure to use an so lightweight. Bloatware such as the Sony Ericsson PC suite etc should actually include this product rather than their own suite. And the great news now of course is the fact that it is now working with Android phones. i have used it with the wireless connectivity option and it still rocks! Maybe the interface is not the most beatiful, but the engine works great!

  1. deluxe

Leave a Reply

