A (different) resignation letter

A different kind of resignation letter. 🙂 I got this by mail today. Not sure if this is a hoax. I don’t honestly think so. The original mail had the email ids of many the employees (some of them mentioned in this mail) in the TO field.

It is hilarious! I really enjoyed the manner in which this person has lashed out at his co-workers 🙂 … This should be regarded as a lesson to many BAD managers across the world. Sometimes, when you push someone too far. The consequences might include the person just quitting leaving behind a mail like this copied to someone outside the company and it floats around from person to person and soon, before you know it, you are in the limelight. You are famous (Notorious??) and so is your organization!!!

This is a long post. But, it’s really worth it. Read on…

Dear Co-Workers and Managers,
As many of you probably know, today is my last day. But before I leave, I wanted to take this opportunity to let you know what a great and distinct pleasure it has been to type “Today is my last day.”

For nearly as long as I’ve worked here, I’ve hoped that I might one day leave this company. And now that this dream has become a reality, please know that I could not have reached this goal without your unending lack of support. Words cannot express my gratitude for the words of gratitude you did not express.

I would especially like to thank all of my managers both past and present but with the exception of the wonderful Saroj Hariprashad: in an age where miscommunication is all too common, you consistently impressed and inspired me with the sheer magnitude of your misinformation, ignorance and intolerance for true talent. It takes a strong man to admit his mistake – it takes a stronger man to attribute his mistake to me.

Over the past seven years, you have taught me more than I could ever ask for and, in most cases, ever did ask for. I have been fortunate enough to work with some absolutely interchangeable supervisors on a wide variety of seemingly identical projects – an invaluable lesson in overcoming daily tedium in overcoming daily tedium in overcoming daily tedium.

Your demands were high and your patience short, but I take great solace knowing that my work was, as stated on my annual review, “meets expectation.” That is the type of praise that sends a man home happy after a 10 hour day, smiling his way through half a bottle of meets expectation scotch with a meets expectation cigar. Thanks Trish!

And to most of my peers: even though we barely acknowledged each other within these office walls, I hope that in the future, should we pass on the street, you will regard me the same way as I regard you: sans eye contact.

But to those few souls with whom I’ve actually interacted, here are my personalized notes of farewell:

To Philip Cress, I will not miss hearing you cry over absolutely nothing while laying blame on me and my coworkers. Your racial comments about Joe Cobbinah were truly offensive and I hope that one day you might gain the strength to apologize to him.

To Brenda Ashby whom is long gone, I hope you find a manager that treats you as poorly as you have treated us. I worked harder for you then any manager in my career and I regret every ounce of it. Watching you take credit for my work was truly demoralizing.

To Sylvia Keenan, you should learn how to keep your mouth shut sweet heart. Bad mouthing the innocent is a negative thing, especially when your talking about someone who knows your disgusting secrets. 😉

To Bob Malvin (Mr. Cronyism Jr), well, I wish you had more of a back bone. You threw me to the wolves with that witch Brenda and I learned all too much from it. I still can’t believe that after following your instructions, I ended up getting written up, wow. Thanks for the experience buddy, lesson learned.

Don Merritt (Mr. Cronyism Sr), I’m happy that you were let go in the same manner that you have handed down to my dedicated coworkers. Hearing you on the phone last year brag about how great bonuses were going to be for you fellas in upper management because all of the lay offs made me nearly vomit. I never expected to see management benefit financially from the suffering of scores of people but then again, with this company’s rooted history in the slave trade it only makes sense.

To all of the executives of this company, Jamie Dimon and such. Despite working through countless managers that practiced unethical behavior, racism, sexism, jealousy and cronyism, I have benefited tremendously by working here and I truly thank you for that.

There was once a time where hard work was rewarded and acknowledged, it’s a pity that all of our positive output now falls on deaf ears and passes blind eyes. My advice for you is to place yourself closer to the pulse of this company and enjoy the effort and dedication of us “faceless little people” more.

There are many great people that are being over worked and mistreated but yet are still loyal not to those who abuse them but to the greater mission of providing excellent customer support. Find them and embrace them as they will help battle the cancerous plague that is ravishing the moral of this company.

So, in parting, if I could pass on any word of advice to the lower salary recipient (“because it’s good for the company”) in India or Tampa who will soon be filling my position, it would be to cherish this experience because a job opportunity like this comes along only once in a lifetime.

Meaning: if I had to work here again in this lifetime, I would sooner kill myself.

To those who I have held a great relationship with, I will miss being your co-worker and will cherish our history together. Please don’t bother responding as at this very moment I am most likely in my car doing 85 with the windows down listening to Biggie.

One!

I really considered graying out the names mentioned. But then the mail has already been around. And if my perception about the internet is right, then its been read by half the world within a couple of hours of this person’s resignation. So, no point editing the original content.

@The managers mentioned here – Sorry, folks. No hard feelings.

  1. #1 by Rubab on August 8, 2007 - 6:28 pm

    smallest resignation ever presented to any boss is fuck off 😉

  2. #2 by Transcendentalist on September 17, 2007 - 11:34 am

    The company being discussed is JP morgan Chase…. 🙂

  3. #3 by John on December 2, 2007 - 5:13 pm

    This mail is far from original, here’s one previous example at Ernst & Young:
    http://www.snopes.com/embarrass/email/leaving.asp – it was sent many times at other companies before this bright spark decided to send his one.

  4. #4 by Anonymous on June 17, 2009 - 1:55 am

    I saw an episode of “The Office” and in that episode someone had wrote that letter to resign and kill himself. This letter has the same significant content than the one mentioned in that tv show. I think whoever wrote it may have just edited a few things but I think you get the idea.

  5. #5 by Christina on September 7, 2009 - 9:10 pm

    Hi Rubab,

    I know u r a bitch. I know u have a big hole. heard u had sex with my bf recently.

  6. #6 by Mix News on August 11, 2010 - 11:03 am

    nice diff latter if you want to decent resignation letter follow this site: http://mixnewz.com/resignation-letter-one-month-notice-resignation-letter-sample/

  7. #7 by rafi on January 29, 2011 - 7:25 pm

    in this letter make some corrections and make it strong

  8. #8 by rafi on January 29, 2011 - 7:27 pm

    make this letter strong and edit some mistakes and words

  9. #9 by Nafeesa Mangat on August 22, 2012 - 4:54 pm

    This blog truly keeps on looking better all the time.
    You should honestly be satisfied.

  1. Sample Resignation Letter « India Rising
  2. Simple Search Engine Optimisation
  3. throat coat
  4. Attorney
  5. adams golf drivers

Leave a Reply

