ABN AMRO Credit card security – Stupid & Absurd!!!!

Here’s a mail I wanted to send to the ABN AMRO customer support. But, I couldn’t. Their grievance form is broken and wont submit!!!! So, here’s the mail. It’s pretty much self explanatory.

Hi,
I hold a savings account, credit card(gold) and AVIVA life insurance with you.

The key problem I have now is that I forgot my ATM PIN and Online banking password for my credit card (gold). When I contacted the support to get it reset. He was asking me for my CVV number (the 3 digit number on the back of the card). I really don’t understand the security you are providing for my money. If some guy in some call center has this information on his screen for cross-checking then what’s the point in me keeping my CVV number a secret? How can I give this information out on a public telecommunication medium like a telephone. What if someone spoofs my call? What if the customer support guy misuses it? he already has my card number, expiry date and now he wants me to give out my CVV number. What kind of security are you trying to enforce here? Why in the world would I trust the voice on the other end of the telephone to give him my CVV number. My family doesn’t know my card CVV number, my friends don’t know my CVV number. Why would I give that information to the call center person?

Other banks also have this process of cross checking the authenticity of the caller. They use properties like mother’s name, date of birth, communication address, permanent address etc. for that. Not my CVV number.

I really don’t understand the reason or logic behind such a security apparatus. But, I feel insecure with that security process. I am sorry. It’s very disappointing.

Thanks,
Uday

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by tv bracket on April 16, 2008 - 8:52 am

    Hi, I use citibank and whenever I call their officers, they would certainly ask the same thing. I thought that was stupid also, but what the heck, they just follow the company policy. Nonetheless, we could still put all the blame the managers who made the policies. Let’s hope the policy don’t root back to the government regulations LOL

  2. #2 by narendra sharma on September 23, 2008 - 6:02 am

    I have lost my credit card’s cvv number because of card scratching.
    my credit card number 5176521004218915
    kindly send cvv number on above email id

  3. #3 by **** on June 23, 2009 - 4:01 am

    Sell Cvv, Paypal , Bank Login , Wu Transfer ……………

    Ccv US is 2 $ per ccv (Visa+Master)
    Ccv US is 5 $ per ccv (Amex + Discover)
    Ccv UK is 4 $ per ccv (Visa + Master)
    Ccv UK is 5 $ per ccv (Amex + Discover)
    Ccv Ca is 6 $ per ccv (Visa+ Master)
    Ccv Ca is 9 $ per ccv (Visa Business + Visa Gold)
    Ccv EU is 6 $ per ccv (Visa + Master)
    Ccv EU is 7 $ per ccv (Amex + Discover)
    Ccv Au is 6 $ per ccv
    Ccv Italy is 15 $ per ccv
    Ccv Germany is 10$ Per Ccv
    Ccv DOB with US is 13 $ per ccv
    Ccv DOB with UK is 14 $ per ccv
    Ccv DOB + BIN with UK 20$ per ccv
    Ccv Asia is 14 $ per ccv
    Ccv US full info is 30 $ per ccv
    Ccv UK full info is 40 $ per ccv
    Paypal with pass email = 18. 5$/paypal
    Paypal don’t have pass email = 8. 5$/Paypal
    Sell Bank login , Do Wu Transfer………

    Payment by Libertyreserve
    Yahoo ID: sell_cvv_sell_wutransfer2009
    E-mail: sell_cvv_sell_wutransfer2009@yahoo. Com

Leave a Reply

