Good bye, Nokia!

Ok. I admit. This is really wierd. Just about a year ago, I sat down to write a similar post when I moved from Extreme Networks to Nokia. And here I am sitting down again to say goodbye to Nokia.

Nokia Logo

A lot has happened in the last one year. Both on professional and personal front. Some nice things. Some really bad things. Last year when I moved out of Extreme Networks, I had a few options in my hand and I picked Nokia out of those for the following reasons –

  1. It is Nokia.
  2. It’s one of the largest organizations that had stood hard and fast against many odds in the last century.
  3. I liked Nokia mobiles while I hated some stuff in them.
  4. I believed that I could actually make a difference.
  5. I have worked in the financial domain, enterprise domain and networking domain. Telecommunication and hand-held devices were new challenges.

So… Then, why did I leave? Many ways to answer that question. πŸ™‚ Some of the reasons are personal and some are professional.

Well, the sugar coated reason is –

The company has millions of users around the world to please. That’s no easy task. ……. When I joined, I thought there was potential to help the company change course in its design direction. But I learned that Google had set its course long before I arrived. Google was a massive aircraft carrier, and I was just a small dinghy trying to push it a few degrees North.

Thats from Douglas Bowman, StopDesign in his post ‘Goodbye, Google‘. Just replace the word Google in the paragraph above with Nokia and you would have what I am trying to say. Now, that’s the sugar coated version. Just that.

Did you really think that I am going to write the ‘real’ bitter version out here on a public blog πŸ˜‰ ….

Anyway, that’s past. I am focusing on the next steps in my life.

  1. #1 by Preeti Aiyer on September 25, 2009 - 12:57 pm

    I wish you the best of good luck in your future endeavors.

  2. #2 by Amit on September 26, 2009 - 12:04 pm

    Hi Uday,

    I have been reading you blogs for a long time now (shorter than how you have been writing though :-)) and have enjoyed reading it every now and then.

    My best wishes for your next move.

    Thanks,
    Amit

  3. #3 by Praveen on September 29, 2009 - 8:39 am

    Good one macha… !!! But “remember the time…..!!!” Yesterday it was my time to blog, today your time…. what time is it ??? Blog time…. πŸ™‚ !!!

    engayo… palaaaarnu aranja maathiri oru feeling…. why blood…. same blood…. πŸ™‚ !!!

    yanjaaai dude… All the very best…God bless πŸ™‚ !!!

  4. #4 by pinaldave on September 29, 2009 - 1:08 pm

    Sir,

    Good Luck, It was pleasure meet you at Trivendrum.

    Kind Regards,
    Pinal

  5. #5 by udayms on September 29, 2009 - 1:18 pm

    @Praveen…. Don’t worry machaa…. I would never forget your ‘http://grpraveen.blogspot.com/2008/09/meeting-vanishing-point.html’ post…..

    I have it bookmarked for ‘occasional’ reference!!! πŸ˜‰

  1. Yahooooooo! « Rising Sun
  2. [Component] Location WatchDog v1.0 « Flexed

Leave a comment